Welcome, and Why I Like Rudy

I have another blog.  The posting on it has been haphazard.  Bully for you if you can connect the two!

 I have decided, though, to have a new raison d’etre in Webville:  Doing what I can to help Rudolph Giuliani get elected president of the United States.  So this is where the bulk of my political posts will occur over the next year or two.

 Why do I feel so strongly about his candidacy?  Well, I became politically conscious during the Reagan presidency.  I am also a reformed Libertarian.  The latter would defer to the former mostly in matters rising from my congenital disposition to be a Cold Warrior.  “Witness” by Whittaker Chambers, for example, I find to be one of the most important books of the 20th Century, and it informs still even though the Russkies are no long much of a bete noir for even me, recent actions by that thug Putin notwithstanding.

Thus my political inclinations are ideally suited to Hizzoner’s political ambitions.  Call me a law and order libertarian, a metropolitan conservative, or perhaps a classical Liberal.  All more or less apply to me, and also to Rudolph Giuliani.  This blog will expand on this, of course.  As the title suggests, we will also have a special emphasis here on how his potential candidacy is faring in the Keystone State, as that is where I have resided for most of my life.

 Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Welcome, and Why I Like Rudy

  1. Meth

    Congratulations on your appointment and your fine inaugural effort. Right now, the press is going after Romney because he is young, good looking, well heeled … and conservative. Just the kind of guy they don’t want to get too much favorable public attention. He represents the same type of threat that Dan Quayle did and you saw what they did to him. Once he is out of the picture, they will really get after Guliani. The hit piece in the NY Times is a precpursor of what is to come. Regards,

    Meth

  2. karlub - PA RudyBlogger

    I think the salient point you overlook about Romney is his complete inability to come across as remotely genuine. You may be an exception, but most people view him as a politican-bot. While Giuliani may not be stereotypically right wing, he is quite obviously an “anti-liberal” as John Podhoretz puts it, and the fact he is not trying to fake a ‘road to Damascus’ conversion on guns or abortion feeds into Giuliani’s persona as sincere and tough.

  3. Pingback: +AFw-')/*

Leave a Reply

